Latest News
About TGEO
Membership Application
International Organizations
Contact Us

About TGEO

The Subjects and the Aims of Taiwan Group on Earth Observations

1. To undertake the responsibility as a citizen on Earth

With the fact that the problem of climate change caused by global warming has come into worldwide notice and the devastating scene of The Day After Tomorrow is approaching, the programs of earth observations launched by the United Nations are carried out all over the world, combining the academic and intellectual, inspecting terrestrial environment information and offering solutions in accordance with disasters derived from climate change.

As a member of the global village, Taiwan cannot stay out the war against global warming. Therefore, we decide to found Taiwan Group on Earth Observations (TGEO) with the society of academia.

2. To connect Taiwan to the World

Since the withdrawal from the UN in 1971, Taiwan could hardly make presence in the international community. After years of efforts of ruling parties, opposition parties and civil societies, last year Taiwan, as an observer, participated in the World Health Assembly for the first time, taking the biggest step for returning to World Health Organization (WHO).

The government has decided the next step, participating the international social organizations and targeting the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCC). According to the experience of promoting the participation in WHO in our nation, this work must begin with the private sector and the environmental academic organization to proceed in order to yield twice the result with half the effort. Thus, setting up Taiwan Group of Earth observations to converge on other organizations of Earth Observations, including EMSEA (Environmental Monitoring from Space of East Asia), GEO (Group on Earth Observations) and IGMASS (International Global Monitoring Aerospace System), … etc., becomes our important mission.

3. To improve the ability of observing environment to prevent from disasters

How to improve the global environment observation capabilities combined with the knowledge management to reverse the environmental crisis caused by global changes into a turning point of sustainable development for Taiwan? How to conduct relevant research and knowledge exchange in nine areas: Biodiversity and Ecosystem Sustainability, Disaster Resilience, Energy and Mineral Resources Management, Food Security and Sustainable Agriculture, Infrastructure & Transportation Management, Public Health Surveillance, Sustainable Urban Development, Water Resources Management and Industry, and how to elaborate a significant influence to raise the overall well-being of Taiwan are aims of TGEO.

NATURAL DISASTER HOTSSPOTS: A GLOBAL RISK ANALYSIS published by the World Bank in 2005 indicates that: 73% of Taiwan accounts for the exposure to at least 3 natural disasters at the same time while 73% of Taiwanese population is under the risks of disaster. Both rates are the highest around the world. Furthermore, how should we react to the problems of severe shortage of food and water in the upcoming twenty-first century?

Compared to the draught on August 7th 50 years ago having brought one thousand millimeters of rainfall in one day, the Typhoon Morakot in 2009, not a super typhoon, brought the worst damage in 50 years, causing 2.5 or even 3 times of rainfall. An incredible phenomenon of climate change! The most likely reason is that Taiwan's coastal high temperature with greatly increasing humidity has been brought into the strong Southwest Monsoon by the Typhoon Morakot, leading to the extremely long torrential rain. The breaking-record rainfall has proved that the problem of unusual climate occurred in Taiwan, which could be related to the emission of greenhouse gas such as carbon dioxide leading to global warming. Will there be the "Climate Fault" to end human being?

The accuracy of quantitative precipitation forecasts has called in question during the Typhoon Morakot, and President Ma expects that our weather forecast can be improved to prevent from catastrophes.

4. To assist our government to monitor territory

All sorts of past disasters will not disappear with time and never come back. Those natural disasters that we have to confront every year become the most crucial and the most realistic trial. To avoid the expansion of disasters and the aggravation of environment, TGEO integrates the professionals and cooperates with organizations of Earth Observations to monitor the surroundings of Taiwan. Such work can not only provide references for governmental units to make decision for policy of disaster prevention, but also for residents to make preparations to minimize the damage before the typhoon comes.

5. To learn the lesson and to avoid passing enthusiasm

With the fact that the effects of climate change emerge, the rainfall breaks the historical record and the constructions could not stop catastrophes anymore, all human negligence is revealed under nature's revenge, causing the lost of uncountable lives and property. To learn the lesson is the best strategy preventing from the next disaster, but it shouldn't be only passing enthusiasm.

After each disaster, the government cannot help but appropriate immediately funds for rehabilitation under the pressure of victims and the public opinion while those governmental units who don't apply all the budgets will be punished, resulting in insufficient time for planning the project, lacking substance, recommitting the same error, and unsustainable development of construction for disaster prevention.

Therefore, TGEO will play the role as a private database, offering a communication platform for disaster prevention and climate change.

最新消息
關於學會
ICEO&SI
工作計畫
學會會務
學會顧問
會員名單
會員優惠
各委員會
入會申請
國際關係
相關連結
聯絡我們
KAGIS
回首頁

關於學會




世界接軌 拯救地球

「台灣地球觀測學會」成立緣由與目的


一、承擔地球公民責任

全球暖化所引起的氣候變遷問題已經引起全世界廣泛的注意,明天過後的世界大毀滅情境已經愈來愈接近,由聯合國所發起的地球觀測計畫也正在世界各地如火如荼展開,結合學術界與知識份子,觀測地球環境資訊,提出因應氣候變遷所衍生災害之道。

身為地球村一份子,台灣顯然不能也無法置身事外。因此,我們決定結合學術界共同成立「台灣地球觀測學會」,不在這一場抗暖化大戰中缺席。

二、接軌世界

從民國六十年退出聯合國後,台灣一直就與國際社會成為一個似有似無的狀態,經過多年來朝野以及民間齊心努力後,去年台灣首度以觀察員身份,參與了世界衛生大會,為重返世界衛生組織(WHO)邁開了最大的一步。

目前政府已經決定下一步參與國際社會組織目標瞄準聯合國氣候變化綱要公約(UNFCC),而根據國內推動參與WHO的經驗,這項工作必須先從民間、外圍學術環境組織著手,方能收事半功倍,因此成立「台灣地球觀測學會」與地球觀測組織接軌,包括EMSEA(Environmental Monitoring from Space of East Asia)、GEO(Group on Earth Observations)以及IGMASS (International Global Monitoring Aerospace System)等,就成為重要的工作。

三、提升環境觀測能力 災害才能預防

如何提升地球環境觀測能力,結合到知識管理手段,將全球變遷引發的環境危機,轉為台灣邁向永續發展的轉機,期望長期在生物多樣性及生態永續性、災害韌性與恢復力、能源及礦物資源管理、食品衛生及永續農業、基礎建設及運輸管理、公共衛生監測、永續都市發展、水資源管理及產業等九大領域,進行相關研究及學識交流,發揮重大的影響力,全面提升台灣的福祉,是為本學會成立宗旨。

世界銀行在 2005 年刊行的《天然災害要覽之全球風險分析》中指出:臺灣同時暴露在三種以上天然災害下的土地面積是 73%,面臨災害危險的人口數也達 73%,都高居世界之冠。此外,在邁入糧食與水資源即將嚴重短缺的二十一世紀,我們該如何因應?

去年八八水災,釀造成南台灣50年來最嚴重的一場災害!50年前八七水災一天降雨一千毫米,這次僅是中度颱風,卻下了2.5倍、甚至3倍雨量,令人匪夷所思,卻是氣候變遷的現象。這場大災難最可能的原因是台灣沿海溫度高、溼度大增,又被莫拉克帶進旺盛西南氣流捲進來,導致「長延時」超大豪雨。不斷創紀錄的雨量更足以說明氣候異常問題已在台灣發生了。而氣候異常又與排放二氧化碳等室效應氣體造成全球暖化脫離不了干係。地球是否會出現「氣候斷層」,導致人類滅絕?

這次颱風期間定量降水預報準確度受質疑,連馬英九總統都期望氣象預報再提升,以做好防災工作。

四、協助政府 監測國土

過去種種的災害事件,並不會隨著昨日消逝的時光而不再出現,因為這些大自然的災害,都是我們每年必須定期面對,也是最殘酷而現實的一項考驗。為避免災害擴大,以及環境更加惡化,台灣地球觀測學會將結合現有的各項專業人力,與地球環境觀測組織共同監測台灣周遭環境狀況,不僅可以提供政府單位進行防災決策的參考,更可以讓民間百姓,在颱災害來臨前,事前做好防災以及減災的工作,讓災害減少至最低的程度。

五、記取教訓,不能只有五分鐘熱度

當氣候變遷效應顯現,雨量年年破紀錄,工程手段已無法再遏阻災難的發生,在大自然的反撲下,所有人為錯誤頓時全都暴露出來,賠上的卻是無數的生命和財產。記取教訓是防範下一次災害最好的策略,但不能只是熱度五分鐘而已。

每次發生災害後,在災民與輿論的壓力下,政府不得馬上撥款進行復建,只要不把錢花完的單位就要記過處分,造成工程沒有完整的規劃時間,粗製濫造、重蹈覆轍,防災工程無法永續發展。復建工作必須規劃先行,不應急著馬上進行工程,除了緊急工程之外,其餘必須有良好的縝密規劃,結合民間團體力量多與民眾進行溝通協調,取得共識之後,然後進行細部的設計,尊重專業,最後再結合政府與民間的資源投入,這樣才能面對未來不可測的環境災難。

台灣地球觀測學會將扮演民間智庫的角色,為因應防災減災與氣候變遷提供良策溝通平台。